Again, we prepared a trap for you! The thing is that the country consists of the seven states but the question was about the mainland. Here is the trick: there are only six states on the continent as the seventh one is an island and even though it is located closely to the mainland it can't be considered a part of it in a geographical sense. There are also three federal territories and some inhabited island territories and the total of the area makes this country one of the largest ones in the world!

More Info: