FINA (French: Fédération internationale de natation, English: International Swimming Federation) is the international federation recognised by the International Olympic Committee (IOC). It is based in Lausanne, Switzerland.

FINA currently oversees competition in six aquatics sports: swimming, diving, high diving, artistic swimming, water polo, and open water swimming. FINA also oversees "Masters" competition (for adults) in its disciplines.

FINA was founded on 19 July 1908 in the Manchester Hotel in London, UK at the end of the 1908 Summer Olympics by the Belgian, British, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Hungarian and Swedish Swimming Federations.

The biggest FINA event is the biennial World Aquatics Championships, currently held every odd year.

More Info: