Coldplay was formed in 1998 at University College, London, with the pairing of pianist-vocalist Chris Martin (b. March 2, 1977, Exeter, England) and guitarist Jonny Buckland (b. September 11, 1977, London). The band was later filled out with fellow students Guy Berryman (b. April 12, 1978, Kirkcaldy, Scotland) on bass and Will Champion (b. July 31, 1978, Southampton, England), a guitarist who later switched to drums. Coldplay penetrated the U.K. Top 100 in 1999 with the single “Brothers & Sisters” on the independent 'Fierce Panda' label before signing with major label 'Parlaphone'.

Coldplay’s full-length debut 'Parachutes' (2000) sold millions on the strength of Martin’s vocals and such singles as the bittersweet “Yellow.” 'Parachutes' earned the band its first Grammy Award, for best alternative album, and paved the way for the more ambitious 'A Rush of Blood to the Head' (2002). The latter album earned the group two more Grammy Awards, and singles such as “Clocks” helped drive the band’s total album sales over the 20- million mark.

Coldplay followed the concert album 'Live 2003' (2003) with 'X & Y' (2005), a collection of guitar-driven, arena-friendly rock anthems (including the hit single “Speed of Sound”) that elevated the group to the rank of “big bands” such as U2 and Radiohead.

More Info: