English and Swahili are Kenya's two official languages.

English was inherited from Kenya's British colonial past. English is the language of choice in business, academics and social set-ups in Kenya.

Swahili (also called Kiswahili) is the national language of Kenya. It is a unifying African language spoken by nearly 100 percent of the Kenyan population. Even illiterate Kenyans know some basic Swahili. The purest form of Kiswahili is spoken along the coast where native Swahili people live. Swahili is one of the most common African languages and it is spoken in many countries other than Kenya, such as Tanzania, Burundi, Uganda and Zaire.

More Info: www.kenya-information-guide.com