Burundi is a landlocked country in the Great Rift Valley where the African Great Lakes region and East Africa converge. It is bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and southeast, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. Lake Tanganyika lies along its southwestern border. Burundi's estimated 2019 population is 11,745,876 people.

The political capital is Gitega (formerly Kitega) which was moved from Bujumbura in February 2019.

It is located in the middle of the country, at approximately the same distance 62 km (39 mi) between the commercial capital, Bujumbura on Lake Tanganyika to the west and the Tanzanian border to the east. The Rwandan border is approximately 72 km (45 mi) to the north. Gitega was created in 1912 during German colonization and it became the capital of Urundi during the colonization by Belgium.

It lies on a broad plateau surrounded by hills, a few kilometres southwest of the confluence of the Ruvyironza and Rurubu Rivers. Ruvubu National Park lies 26 km (16 mi) to the east. The total area of the capital Gitega is 22 km2 (8 sq mi).

Gitega was the seat of the Kingdom of Burundi until its abolition in 1966. In December 2018, Burundian President Pierre Nkurunziza announced that he would follow on a 2007 promise to return Gitega its former political capital status. Bujumbura would remain as the economical capital and the centre of commerce. A vote in the Parliament of Burundi made the change official on 16 January 2019.

More Info: www.sporcle.com