Greenland is on the North American tectonic plate. Each tectonic plate is a piece of the Earth's crust and uppermost mantle, together all the plates are referred to as the lithosphere.

There are seven major plates. They are the African plate, Antarctic plate, Eurasian plate, Indo-Australian plate, North American plate, Pacific plate, and South American plate. Each tectonic plate (also called a lithospheric plate) is a massive, irregularly shaped slab of solid rock. They are generally composed of both continental and oceanic lithosphere. Plate size can vary greatly, from a few hundred to thousands of kilometers across; the Pacific and Antarctic Plates are among the largest.

From the deepest ocean trench to the tallest mountain, plate tectonics explains the features and movement of Earth's surface in the present and the past.

More Info: