Of the 22 scheduled languages incorporated in the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution, fifteen regional languages, apart from Hindi and English, find mention on Indian currency notes. India is a multi linguistic country with constitution guaranteeing conservation of language, script or culture by any section of citizens residing in any part of the country. Each group has a guaranteed right to propagate and promote its language. The Reserve Bank of India has the authority to print and circulate banknotes in India.

Indian rupee banknotes has its amount written in 17 languages. On the obverse, the denomination is written in English and Hindi. On the reverse, is a language panel, which displays the denomination of the note in 15 of the 22 Official languages of India. The languages are displayed in alphabetical order. Languages included on the panel are: Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, kannada, Kashmiri, konkani, Malayalam, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

The genesis of the word 'rupee' is in the Sanskrit word 'raupya', which means silver. Indian Rupee is variously called 'rupaya' in Hindi, 'rupiyo' in Gujarati, 'roopayi' in Telugu and Kannada, 'ruubai' in Tamil and 'rupyakam' in Sanskrit. However, in Eastern India it is called 'Taka/Toka' in Bengali and Assamese and 'Tanka' in Oriya.

More Info: www.newsncr.com