The 8 planets in our solar system have 166 moons. Neither Mercury nor Venus have any moons. Our home, the Earth, has 1 moon. Mars has 2 moons. Mighty Jupiter has 63 known moons. Saturn has 60 moons. Uranus has 27 and Neptune has all of 13 moons. So the total number of known moons orbiting the 8 planets is 166. However, some people believe that astronomers will discover more moons hidden around the planets.