There are four states in the U.S. that begin with the word 'New'. They are:

New Hampshire a state in the New England region of the United States.

New Jersey a state in the Mid-Atlantic and Northeastern regions of the United States.

New Mexico a state in the Southwestern United States.

New York a state in the Northeastern United States.

In the United States, a state is a constituent political entity, of which there are currently 50. Bound together in a political union, each state holds governmental jurisdiction over a separate and defined geographic territory where it shares its sovereignty with the federal government. Due to this shared sovereignty, Americans are citizens both of the federal republic and of the state in which they reside. State citizenship and residency are flexible, and no government approval is required to move between states, except for persons restricted by certain types of court orders (such as paroled convicts and children of divorced spouses who are sharing custody).

More Info: