The number of US states formed from the Louisiana Purchase is 14. The states that would eventually be created from the Louisiana Purchase include: Arkansas, Missouri, Iowa, Oklahoma, Kansas, Nebraska, parts of Minnesota that were west of the Mississippi River, most of North Dakota, nearly all of South Dakota, northeastern New Mexico, the portions of Montana, Wyoming, and Colorado east of the Continental Divide, and Louisiana west of the Mississippi River, including the city of New Orleans.

Without the Louisiana Purchase the United States would be about 50% smaller in size. This was a heads-up deal that nearly doubled the size of the United State in 1803. At the time, U.S. representatives in Paris, France agreed to pay $15 million dollars for about 828,000 square miles of land that stretched from the Mississippi River to the Rocky Mountains and from the Gulf of Mexico to Canada.

More Info: