The FIFA Futsal World Cup is the international championship for futsal, the indoor version of association football organized by FIFA. The world championship tournament is held every four years, on the even year between two football World Cups. The first event was held in 1989. It was held in the Netherlands to commemorate the popularity of the game there. The current champion is Argentina, which won its first title at the 2016 tournament in Colombia. The next FIFA Futsal World Cup will take place in 2021 to be held in Lithuania.

All events prior to 2008 had been 16-team events. The first event featured 6 teams from Europe, 3 from South America, 2 from Africa, 2 from Asia, 2 from North and Central America, and 1 from Oceania. Since 2012 it includes 24 teams which split to a six group round-robin tournament, with four teams in each group. The top two teams in each group, together with the 4 highest-ranked third-place finishers, advanced to a sixteen team knockout final series.

More Info: