The Group of Twenty (G20) is an intergovernmental forum made up of 19 individual countries plus the European Union. It was founded in 1999 in response to several world economic crises. It is composed of most of the world's largest economies and accounts for about 90% of gross world product, 75% of international trade, half the world's land area, and two-thirds of the global population. It addresses major issues related to the global economy, such as international financial stability, climate change mitigation, and sustainable development.

Since 2008, the G20 has convened at least once a year, with summits involving each member's head of government or state, finance minister, foreign minister, and other high-ranking officials. The group's stature rose during the subsequent decade, and it is recognised as exercising considerable global influence; it is also criticised for its limited membership and the lack of enforcement powers.

To decide which member nation gets to chair the G20 leaders' meeting in any year, member countries are grouped as follows:

1 Australia, Canada, Saudi Arabia, United States

2 India, Russia, South Africa, Turkey

3 Argentina, Brazil, Mexico

4 France, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom

5 China, Indonesia, Japan, South Korea

All countries within each of the five groups are eligible to take over the G20 Presidency when it is their group's turn. The states within the relevant group negotiate among themselves to select the next G20 President.

More Info: