Osaka is a designated city in the Kansai region of Honshu in Japan. It is the capital and the largest city in Osaka Prefecture, and the third most populous city in Japan, following Tokyo and Yokohama. According to the census in 2005, there were 2,628,811 residents in Osaka. "Ōsaka" means "large hill" or "large slope".

Osaka was traditionally considered Japan's economic hub. By the Kofun period (300–538) it had developed into an important regional port, and in the 7th and 8th centuries, it served briefly as the imperial capital. Osaka continued to flourish during the Edo period (1603–1867) and became known as a center of Japanese culture. Following the Meiji Restoration, Osaka greatly expanded in size and underwent rapid industrialization. In 1889, Osaka was officially established as a municipality. The construction boom accelerated population growth throughout the following decades, and by the 1900s, Osaka was the industrial hub in the Meiji and Taishō periods. Osaka made noted contributions to redevelopment, urban planning and zoning standards in the postwar period, the city developed rapidly as one of the major financial center in the Keihanshin Metropolitan Area.

Osaka is a major financial center of Japan, and its recognized as one of the most multicultural and cosmopolitan cities in Japan.

More Info: