The Snopes family appears in three of the popular novels written by William Faulkner. The Snopes trilogy is a saga that stands as perhaps the greatest feat of Faulkner's imagination. "The Hamlet" (1940), the first book of the series chronicling the advent and rise of the grasping Snopes family in mythical Yoknapatawpha County, is a work that Cleanth Brooks called "one of the richest novels that Faulkner created." It recounts Flem Snopes dominating the rural community of Frenchman's Bend. Flem is also able to claim Eula Varner as his bride.

The second novel is "The Town" (1957). It records Flem's ruthless struggle to take over the county seat of Jefferson, Mississippi.

Finally, "The Mansion" (1959) tells of Mink Snopes, whose archaic sense of honor brings about the downfall of his cousin Flem. "For all his concerns with the South, Faulkner was actually seeking out the nature of man," noted Ralph Ellison. "He (Faulkner) provided a continuity of moral purpose in classic works."

William Faulkner was born in New Albany, Mississippi, in September 1897. He published his first book, "The Marble Faun" (a collection of poems), in 1924, and his first novel, "Soldier’s Pay" (1926). In 1949, having written such works as "Absalom, Absalom!", "As I Lay Dying, Light in August", and "The Sound and the Fury", Faulkner was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. He also received the Pulitzer Prize for two other novels, "A Fable" (1954) and "The Reivers" (1962). He died in July 1962.

More Info: