The Bill of Rights is the name for Amendments 1 - 10 to the United States Constitution. These amendments were ratified on the 15th of December, 1791: 3/4 of the states confirmed them. Originally there were 12 amendments approved by the Senate, but the states quickly ratified only ten of them.

James Madison wrote the Bill of Rights in 1789 in reply to the requests from several states: they wanted a better protection of citizens' rights. The first ten amendments of the Constitution determine the power of federal government and protect certain rights of the citizens of the United States.