The Amazon Rainforest also known as Amazonia, or the Amazon Jungle, is a moist broadleaf forest that covers almost all of the Amazon Basin in South America. The basin consists of 1.7 billion acres, of which 1.4 billion acres is rainforest. This rainforest covers nine nations (Brazil, Peru, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname, and French Guiana). Brazil contains nearly 60% of the rainforest, while Peru has nearly 13%. The Amazon Rainforest represents more than half of the planet’s remaining rainforests. It is the largest and most species-rich tropical rainforest on the planet. It has been nominated as one of the New Seven Wonders of the World and is currently listed as number one on group E, which consists of forests, national parks, and nature reserves.