Baffin Island (formerly Baffin Land), in the Canadian territory of Nunavut, is the largest island in Canada and the fifth-largest island in the world. Its area is 507,451 km2 (195,928 sq mi) and its population was 13,148 as of the 2016 Canadian Census. It is located in the region of 68°N 70°W.

In 1576, English seaman Martin Frobisher made landfall on the island, naming it "Queen Elizabeth's Foreland". Frobisher Bay is named after him. The island was later renamed after English explorer William Baffin, who, in 1616, came across the island while trying to discover the Northwest Passage.

To the south lies Hudson Strait, separating Baffin Island from mainland Quebec. South of the western end of the island is the Fury and Hecla Strait, which separates the island from the Melville Peninsula on the mainland. To the east are Davis Strait and Baffin Bay, with Greenland beyond. The Foxe Basin, the Gulf of Boothia and Lancaster Sound separate Baffin Island from the rest of the Arctic Archipelago to the west and north.

More Info: