Several different locations have served as the capital of Texas since 1686, when Monclova, Coahuila became its first provincial capital. During the period of the Republic of Texas (1836–1845) the capital of Texas moved from city to city. The Republic had an Ad interim government from March 14 to September 1836, when the new nation's voters elected a government.

The city of Austin has served as the capital of Texas since 1839 to the present day. In terms of population it holds the 11th position in the state with approximately 912,000 people living here. The famous motto of the city is "Keep Austin Weird", which supports Austin's diversity, originality and local independent businessmen as well.

More Info: