The 2016 ICC World Twenty20 was the sixth edition of the ICC World Twenty20, the world championship of Twenty20 International cricket. It was held in India from 8 March to 3 April 2016, and was the first edition to be hosted by that country.

Twenty20 cricket or Twenty-20 (often abbreviated to T20), is a shortened format of cricket. In a Twenty20 game the two teams have a single innings each, which is restricted to a maximum of 20 overs.

For the second time, the tournament featured 16 teams. All ten full members qualified automatically, joined by the six associate members: Ireland, Scotland, Netherlands, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Oman who all qualified through the 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, played in Ireland and Scotland between 6 and 26 July 2015. Oman made its debut in the tournament.

The West Indies beat England in the final to become world champions.

More Info: