There are six major kinds of islands: continental (1), tidal (2), barrier (3), oceanic (4), coral (5), and artificial (6).

Most of the islands of the far north, here Sweden, Canada, and Norway, are continental islands formed by glacial movement and continental, or tectonic shift.

Indonesian islands are both continental, being located between the Eurasian and Australian tectonic plates and oceanic, the result of volcanic activity.

The number of islands located in each named country is:

Sweden 221,880

Canada 52,455

Indonesia 17,508

Norway 55,000

More Info: