The White Mountains are a mountain range covering about a quarter of the state of New Hampshire and a small portion of western Maine in the United States.They are part of the northern Appalachian Mountains and the most rugged mountains in New England.The range is heavily visited due to its proximity to Boston and, to a lesser extent, New York City and Montreal, Quebec, Canada.

The Presidential Range is a mountain range located in the White Mountains of the U.S. state of New Hampshire. Containing the highest peaks the most notable summits are named after American presidents, followed by prominent public figures of the 18th and 19th centuries.

Mt. Washington is the tallest at 6,288 ft (1,917 m), followed by neighbouring peaks Mt. Adams at 5,793 ft (1,766 m) and Mt. Jefferson at 5,712 ft (1,741 m). The tallest mountain (Mt. Washington) is named after the first president, the second tallest (Mt. Adams) after the second president, and so on. However, due to a surveying error, Mt. Monroe is actually 22 feet (6.7 m) taller than Mt. Madison which is not the correct order of presidents.The range is almost entirely in Coos County.

The mountain is notorious for its erratic weather. On the afternoon of April 12, 1934, the Mount Washington Observatory recorded a windspeed of 231 miles per hour (372 km/h) at the summit, the world record from 1934 until 1996.

More Info: