Abraham Lincoln, the 16th president of the United States, had connections to three different states: Kentucky, Indiana, and most notably Illinois. In 1955, Illinois adopted "Land of Lincoln" as its official slogan. Abraham Lincoln moved to Macon County, Illinois from Indiana in 1830 when he was 21 years old. He lived in Illinois until he became President in 1861. In addition to serving as President, Lincoln represented Illinois in the U.S. House of Representatives for one term (1847-1849). He was a member of the Illinois Legislature from 1834 to 1841 (four terms). Lincoln's Springfield, Illinois home is a National Historic Site administered by the National Park Service. The Lincoln Tomb in Oak Ridge Cemetery, Springfield, is a State Historic Site. New Salem, the village where Lincoln lived prior to moving to Springfield, is in nearby Petersburg.

More Info: www.ereferencedesk.com