The Boston Celtics have won the most NBA championships with 17. They were a founding member of the NBA, and its predecessor the BAA, which was formed in 1946.

The Celtics won their first NBA title in 1957. They then rolled through the NBA like a hot knife through butter, winning eight consecutive championships from 1959 to 1966. After not winning in 1967, Boston added two more titles, in 1968 and 1969.

The Celtics won their remaining championships in 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986 and 2008.

The Los Angeles Lakers have the second-most NBA titles, at 16, the first five of which came when the franchise played in Minneapolis.

The Chicago Bulls have the third-most titles, all coming in the 1990s via a pair of three-peats: 1991-1993 and 1996-1998.

The San Antonio Spurs, meanwhile, have five NBA titles, the last of which came in 2014.

More Info: