Liechtenstein participates in a customs union with Switzerland and has adopted the Swiss franc as its national currency. The franc or Swiss franc is the currency and legal tender of Switzerland and Liechtenstein. The Swiss National Bank (SNB) issues banknotes and the federal mint Swissmint issues coins.

Liechtenstein, officially known as “the Principality of Liechtenstein” (German: Fürstentum Liechtenstein), is a German-speaking microstate in Alpine Central Europe. The principality is a semi-constitutional monarchy headed by the Prince of Liechtenstein.

Despite its limited natural resources, Liechtenstein is one of the few countries in the world with more registered companies than citizens; it has developed a prosperous, highly industrialized free-enterprise economy and boasts a financial service sector as well as a living standard that compares favorably with those of the urban areas of Liechtenstein's much larger European neighbors.

Liechtenstein has been a member of the European Economic Area (an organization serving as a bridge between the European Free Trade Association (EFTA) and the European Union) since May 1995.

More Info: