The capital city of Australia is Canberra. It is located at the northern end of the Australian Capital Territory (ACT), 280 km (170 mi) south-west of Sydney, and 660 km (410 mi) north-east of Melbourne. With a population of 381,488, it is Australia's eighth-largest city overall: the seven Australian cities larger than Canberra are Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Adelaide, Gold Coast, Newcastle.

More Info: