National flag of the USA consists of white stars (50 since July 4, 1960) on a blue canton with a field of 13 alternating stripes, 7 red and 6 white. The 50 stars stand for the 50 states of the union, and the 13 stripes stand for the original 13 states. Officially the red stripes signify valor and bravery, while the white stripes symbolize purity and innocence.