Barack Obama, Woodrow Wilson and Theodore Roosevelt have been awarded the Nobel Peace Prize during their terms in office. Former President Jimmy Carter was given the award in 2002, 21 years after leaving his office.

  • 2009 - Obama receives his award for the "extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between people". Our 44th president was deeply surprised and stated that he had to share it with every person striving for dignity and justice.
  • 2002 - Jimmy Carter, the 39th President of the USA, who had left his office in 1981, receives the Nobel Peace Prize for his work with the Carter Center, his non-for-profit organization aimed to protect human rights and ease human sufferings.
  • 1919 - Woodrow Wilson is given the prize for his active sponsorship and work for the League of Nations.
  • 1906 - Theodore Roosevelt wins the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to end the Russo-Japanese War and becomes the first US president to earn this award.

More Info: