The Tyrrhenian Sea is located in the Mediterranean Sea, between the Island of Corsica which is French and Sardinia and Sicily which are Italian, and Italian west coast. It is named for the Tyrrhenian people, identified since the 6th century BCE with the Etruscans of Italy. The lower end of the Tyrrhenian Sea starts at the Strait of Messina which separates Sicily and the Italian mainland. Depths of the Sea average 6,562' and extend to a maximum of 12,418'.

Islands of the Tyrrhenian Sea include Corsica, Sardinia, Sicily, Elba, Ischia, Capri, and Ustica.

More Info: