The British Parliament is one of the oldest continuous representative assemblies in the world. It was officially formed in 1707 out of the daily political needs of the English King and his government. Today the Queen is the head of the parliament, which consists of the House of Lords and the House of Commons.

The House of Lords is the Upper House of the Parliament. The seat of the Lord Speaker is a large red cushion, sitting on which he or she usually speaks. The famous and old name of this seat is "The Woolsack". The name was adopted in the 14th century. King Edward III gave such a name to his Lord Chancellor's seat because the wool trade was important for the economy and life of the country of those times. The British are famous for their special love of old traditions and names, and the case of "The Woolsack" is one of the examples of it.

More Info: