Toei Animation Co., Ltd., commonly referred to as Toei Animation, is a Japanese animation studio primarily owned by Toei Company. It has produced numerous series, including Sally the Witch, Gegege no Kitaro, Mazinger Z, Galaxy Express 999, Dr. Slump, Dragon Ball, Saint Seiya, Sailor Moon, Slam Dunk, Digimon, One Piece and the Precure series.

The studio was founded by animators Kenzō Masaoka and Zenjirō Yamamoto in 1948 as Japan Animated Films. In 1956, Toei purchased the studio and it was renamed Toei Doga Co., Ltd., doing business as Toei Animation Co., Ltd. outside Japan.

In 1998, the Japanese name was renamed to Toei Animation. It has created a number of TV series and movies and adapted Japanese comics as animated series, many popular worldwide. Hayao Miyazaki, Isao Takahata and others have worked with the company.

More Info: