At the 7th (Special) Session of the Supreme Soviet of the Soviet Union Ninth Convocation on 7 October 1977, the third and last Soviet Constitution, also known as the Brezhnev Constitution or the constitution of the developed Socialism, was adopted unanimously. The official name was the Constitution (Fundamental Law) of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics.

The preamble stated that "the aims of the dictatorship of the proletariat having been fulfilled, the Soviet state has become the state of the whole people." Compared with previous constitutions, the Brezhnev Constitution extended the scope of the constitutional regulation of society. The first chapter defined the leading role of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union (CPSU) and established the organizational principles for the state and the government.

More Info: