The name for the wars that occurred between the Athenians and the Spartans from 460 to 405 BC is 'The Peloponnesian Wars'. The Peloponnesian Wars were Ancient Greek wars which were fought by the Delian League led by Athens against the Peloponnesian League led by Sparta. Historians have traditionally divided the wars into three phases.

The First Peloponnesian War took place between 460-446 BC. The Second Peloponnesian War occurred from 431-404 BC. Real fighting between the two city-states in ancient Greece ended in April 404 BC when Athens surrendered. Athens lost the Peloponnesian War for two main reasons. The first was the drain of fighting Sparta, Sparta's allies, Corinth, and Thebes. Second, the war dragged on for a very long time period, several decades were involved. The combined effects of these two major problems lost the Peloponnesian Wars for Athens.

More Info: