The official currency in Dubai is named Dirham (or United Arab Emirates Dirham; AED). It is not the currency of Dubai only, but also other emirates including Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Fujairah, Sharjah, Ras al-Khaimah and Umm al-Qaiwain.

The Dirham (AED) is abbreviated as DH or Dhs and the symbol is د.إ.

It is subdivided into 100 fils (فلس). Its coins are 25, 50 fils, 1 dirham and the banknotes are 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 500, 1000 dirhams.

More Info: