The State of Mississippi did not end its version of Prohibition until 1966. Mississippi was the last state to officially end Prohibition. It had decided to keep its Prohibition laws for another three decades after 1933. In 2004, half of Mississippi’s counties were still dry counties. Currently, three states, Kansas, Mississippi, and Tennessee, are dry states by default: counties specifically must authorize the sale of alcohol in order for it to be legal and subject to state liquor control laws. The county is a dry county in the United States, if its government forbids the sale of any kind of alcoholic beverages. In Alabama, it specifically allows cities and counties to elect to go dry by public referendum.

More Info: