Cambodia, also Kampuchea, officially the Kingdom of Cambodia, is a country located in the southern portion of the Indochina peninsula in Southeast Asia. It is 181,035 square kilometres (69,898 square miles) in area, bordered by Thailand to the northwest, Laos to the northeast, Vietnam to the east and the Gulf of Thailand to the southwest.

The "Kingdom of Cambodia" is the official English name of the country. The English "Cambodia" is an anglicisation of the French "Cambodge", which in turn is the French transliteration of the Khmer "kampuciə". The Khmer endonym Kampuchea derives from the Sanskrit name "kambojadeśa", composed of "deśa" ("land of" or "country of") and "kamboja", which alludes to the foundation myths of the first ancient Khmer kingdom.

More Info: