The ‘Annie’ Awards are accolades presented annually by the Los Angeles branch of the International Animated Film Association, ASIFA ("Association Internationale du Film d'Animation") - Hollywood since 1972, to recognize excellence in animation in film and television.

In 1972, June Foray (an American voice actor) conceived the idea that there should be awards for animation as there were no awards for the field. With the approval of ASIFA-Hollywood president Nick Bosustow, 'Annie' Awards ceremony was organized. The first ceremony was held at the banquet room of Sportsmen's Lodge in Ventura Boulevard in Studio City, Los Angeles, California. Max Fleischer and Dave Fleischer were the first to be honoured by the first 'Annie' Awards for creating the characters Betty Boop, Popeye and Olive Oyl, and for inventing the technique of rotoscoping (an animation technique that animators use to trace over motion picture footage, frame by frame, to produce realistic action).

Originally designed to celebrate lifetime or career contributions to animation, since 1992 it has given awards to individual films.

Memberships in the ASIFA-Hollywood consist of three main categories: General Member, Patron and Student Member. Joining ASIFA-Hollywood is open to professionals, students and fans of animation, for a membership fee. Selected professional members are permitted to vote for the 'Annie'.

The 46th ‘Annie’ Awards ceremony took place on February 2, 2019, on the campus of UCLA.

More Info: