Tokelau is the dependent territory in question, known previously as the Union Islands, and, until 1976, known officially as the Tokelau Islands. Along with English, Tokelauan -- a Polynesian language -- is the official language of Tokelau. In that language “Tokelau” simply means "North-northeast" or “North by Northeast.”

Tokelau is in the southern Pacific Ocean and consists of three tropical coral atolls: Atafu, Nukunonu, and Fakaofo. It was settled about 1,000 years ago from Samoa. The islands were once a British colony. Now Tokelau is a dependent territory of New Zealand, but is officially referred to as a nation by both the New Zealand government and the Tokelauan government.

Tokelau has a population of approximately 1,500 people, the fourth-smallest population of any sovereign state or dependency in the world. It has the smallest economy of any sovereign nation, although it is a leader in renewable energy, being the first 100% solar powered nation in the world.

The picture is of the Tokelau national flag.

More Info: