The Triple Crown of Motorsport is an unofficial motorsport achievement, often regarded as winning three of the most prestigious motor races in the world in one's career:

the Indianapolis 500

the 24 Hours of Le Mans

the Monaco Grand Prix

For eleven years (1950–1960) Monaco and Indianapolis were part of the FIA World Championship of Drivers (now synonymous with Formula One) but in 1961 Indianapolis was dropped from the World Championship series. In 1987 the Monaco race date was changed to be about two weeks later than earlier years. Since then both it and the Indianapolis race have been held on the same day making it impossible for one driver to compete in both races the same year.

Graham Hill is the only driver to have completed the Triple Crown. 17 drivers in motorsports history have competed in all three legs of the Triple Crown and have won at least one of the events. Juan Pablo Montoya is the only active driver to have won two of the three events.

More Info: